## NASHOBA REGIONAL SCHOOL COMMITTEE ANTI-RACISM RESOLUTION:

**DATE:** January 12, 2022

**TO:** MA Governor Charlie Baker

MA Secretary of Education James Peyser MA Commissioner of Education Jeffrey Riley

MA Senate President Karen Spilka MA House Speaker Ronald Mariano

**CC:** Senator John Cronin

Senator James Eldridge Representative Kate Hogan Representative Megan Kilcoyne Bolton Town Administrator Don Lowe

Stow Town Administrator Denise Dembkoski Interim Lancaster Town Administrator Jeff Nutting

Kirk Downing, Superintendent, Nashoba Regional School District

WHEREAS, as schools have the responsibility to equip students with their civil right of obtaining a free and appropriate public education, it is the responsibility of each school to ensure we create a welcoming community for ALL students; and

WHEREAS, it is the responsibility that every district provide to all district staff, including School Committee members annual professional development on diversity, equity and inclusion; and

WHEREAS, every district will commit to recruiting and retaining a diverse and culturally responsive teaching workforce; and

WHEREAS, every district will examine their policies for institutional and systemic racialized practices and implement change with sustainable policies that are evidence based; and

WHEREAS, every district will incorporate into their curriculum the history of racial oppression and works by black authors and works from diverse perspectives; and

WHEREAS, we as school district leaders can no longer remain silent to the issues of racism and hate that continue to plague our public and private institutions;

RESOLVED: that [District] and all the school districts in the Commonwealth must guarantee that racist practices are eradicated, and diversity, equity and inclusion is embedded and practiced for our students, families, faculty and staff.

We must ensure our own school culture and that of every district in the Commonwealth is antiracist, that acknowledges that all lives cannot matter until black lives matter.

Respectfully,

Nashoba Regional School Committee

Leah Vivirito, Chair (Stow Rep.)

Members: Mike Horesh (Vice Chair, Bolton Rep.), Brett Collins (Lancaster Rep.), Joseph

Gleason (Lancaster Rep.), Mike Horesh (Bolton Rep.), Dr. Mary McCarthy (Bolton Rep.), Stephen Rubinstein (Stow Rep.), Amy Cohen (Bolton Rep.), Karen Devine

(Stow Rep.), Rich Eckel (Stow Rep.), Shawn Winsor (Lancaster Rep.)

On roll call, the order was approved by the following vote:

**YEAS** - 10

NAYS - 0

ABSENT - 1

Attest:

Aleta Masterson

**Executive Secretary** 

aleta S. Masterson